Leaf Springs on 40year old trailer.

Page  123 4>
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote OneWayTraffic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Leaf Springs on 40year old trailer.
    Posted: 08 Oct 2020 at 6:11pm
OneWayTraffic View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

I'm posting this there rather than my build thread in the hope of a wider audience, and it's a trailer question.

My trailer frame has been completely stripped and is getting hot galv dipped. I am planning to paint the axle with POR15 then topcoat with a a zinc paint. I went back and forth on removing the leaf springs, as I have never done that before then decided to jump in. Off came the right spring. I cut the top off two of the bolts on this one as the threads were deformed. Then ran the nut off repairing the thread. The springs themselves look solid as, only surface rust but I am not sure about the bolts and that rusty pin in the middle of the plate. I don't know how it comes out though I assume it's possible. 

Whats the best thing to do from here? Replace the whole spring set ~$250. Replace just the bolts, or just clean and reassemble.

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote smudge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Oct 2020 at 6:29pm
smudge View Drop Down
Moderator - Ninja
Moderator - Ninja

The question is where do you stop spending money. I'm reasonably capable at fixing stuff but I just took my trailer to a local guy with a good reputation and said 'fixit'. He did wheel bearings, new springs, everything except the electrical which I did. All up it was 3 thousand bucks but that included a lot of new steel in a lot of places etc. A new trailer was 5.5. Border line. Looking at your pics I would just clean what you've got and replace the bolts. Leave the centre pin alone. Either that or spend another 250. The springs look way better than mine but I haven't towed my boat more than 5km in years.
Best gurnard fisherman in my street