HELP Garmin 551s crashed

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote clean_up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: HELP Garmin 551s crashed
    Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 10:35am
clean_up View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Location: Laingholm
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Hey all,
I own a Garmin 551s chartplotter/fishfinder, and a few days ago, when coming back from a days fishing, turned it on, and it updated its software automatically, then wouldnt turn on past the "garmin" screen. It just stops there!!!
Any help would be appreciated. If no joy, I will take it back to Fish City on monday or tuesday.

Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Jet_ski_fisher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 11:06am
Jet_ski_fisher View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Location: Whakatane
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Hard reset it first, then see how you go from there..
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote clean_up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 11:08am
clean_up View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Location: Laingholm
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Thanks for that. How do I do a hard reset of it??

Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Jet_ski_fisher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 11:16am
Jet_ski_fisher View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Location: Whakatane
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Should be under settings to reset to defaults.  Head on over to page 56 on your manual it shows you how to reset the unit :) btw unplug the  sonar mod when you start up it could be looking for it and freezing it..
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote clean_up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 11:17am
clean_up View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Location: Laingholm
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Thats the issue, it won't even load up to the menu screen, it freezes on the "garmin" screen, doesnt load past that :(
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote flyfisher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 11:19am
flyfisher View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
Avatar

Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Location: Wellington
Status: Offline
Points: 5972
Google a hard reset for the Garmin 551s (or the US version), usually holding down two key combinations whilst powering one, this will fix it, freeze ups like this are relatively common, it will re-load it's software, but you WILL loose all saved data like waypoints etc.
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote clean_up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 12:47pm
clean_up View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Location: Laingholm
Status: Offline
Points: 96
YAY managed to sort it!
Had to get the wifes work computer (a PC) as we have Macs at home, and get the software update via SD card :)
All fixed. Thanks everyone for your help :)
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Jet_ski_fisher Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 2:07pm
Jet_ski_fisher View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
Avatar

Joined: 08 Dec 2008
Location: Whakatane
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Good job hope your out fishing again :) now comes the fun part of re doing the settings all over again :)
Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote clean_up Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2012 at 3:37pm
clean_up View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze
Avatar

Joined: 24 Jan 2011
Location: Laingholm
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Yup will be out next week, looking like thursday or friday :)
Thankfully it was only the settings that need re-doing, not all the gps spots i've marked :)

Back to Top
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote ire657 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2021 at 8:15am
ire657 View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze


Joined: 07 May 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Hey,

Having a similar issue just wondering how you managed to update it? I've downloaded software onto sd card but when i insert it nothing happens.

Any help would be greatly appreciated
Back to Top
Forum Jump
Forum Permissions View Drop Down


This page was generated in 0.154 seconds.

Fishing Reports Visit Reports

Rotorua Fishing Report - June 17th, 2022

Lake Rotoma fish in good nick Lake Rotoma has begun to fire up over the... Read More >

Turangi-Taupo Report - June 17th, 2022

Tongariro gets the big flush out The winter fishing has kicked off, and so has... Read More >

Bream Bay Fishing Report - June 17th, 2022

In close at Te Arai fishing well There is not a great deal to report... Read More >

Canterbury Fishing Report - June 17th, 2022

It’s fair to say that the weather in the past period has been terrible! The... Read More >

Fishing bite times Fishing bite times

Major Bites

Minor Bites

Major Bites

Minor Bites