FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Spin Reel for 3 Kings

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Pedrotms Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Spin Reel for 3 Kings
    Posted: 22 Sep 2020 at 10:46am
Pedrotms View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hello guys.
I was absent from the forum for a long time, I apologise for that. As a researcher my professional life kept me away from fishing forums (luckily I managed to go fishing ahahahah).

Now coming back to the topic...I mostly jig arround the Azores archipelago. Although my main target are the greater amberjacks (Seriola dumerili) which can be found (sadly not in the numbers that used to be due to overfishing) still in huge sizes...true monsters! Fish that can go over 70kg...fish that big rarelly are brought to the side of the boat, and when that happens is mostly while doing spear fishing. Huge greater amberjack can still be caught doing jigging, but most of the 30kg+ bust everything in the volcanic rock bottoms.
The particular places that I target I normally fish them with a PE6 setup with  jigs up to 350g and a 10000 shimano size reel. But truth to be said, the only reason I don't go heavier (PE8 or PE10 setup) after huge fish in the banks is because I can't pay for a charter all by myself and lack people to go with me with that kind of gear...
That being said, this year I lost my biggest amberjack, for sure a fish 40kg+ and saw it's "coat" (like we say in the Azores in portuguese - "ainda lhe vi o casaco"). So I am putting together a PE8 jigging setup. I've got the rod, now I need the reel.