Whats the Best .22 Rifle.

Page  123 4>
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Shark-Bait Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Whats the Best .22 Rifle.
    Posted: 17 May 2013 at 12:19pm
Shark-Bait View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Whats the best .22 Rifle for controlling pests...........bunnies, possums & pokes.
Cut a long story short i live in Whitford on a small farm & with the summer being so dry i have had an explosion of pests & need to control them, in the process of getting my gun licence so will be looking at getting a small .22 rifle with sights & a silencer/suppressor & was wondering what your thoughts are on the best value for money under a grand, remember i'm a beginner & safety is paramount to me.
What i have looked at so far.....

Ruger 10/22 package with scope & silencer...........$600.00............new
Tikka with the works................second hand..........$1000.00
Howa with the works for $1400.00 which looks the part & the pick of the bunch but $400.00 more.

Have been advised by a gun shop to go for a bolt action with one shot one load rather than a semi auto, safety i guess.

Any help or thoughts would be great.
Cheers
SB

Life is short so make the most of every day.

www.oceanangler.co.nz
   www.fullonfishing.co.nz
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Kiwicaster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2013 at 12:34pm
Kiwicaster View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

.22's are the cheapest to run as far as ammo costs . $16 for 100 shots or less if you buy bulk . Cheap centrefire ammo is $44 for 50 to $40 for 20 dependent on the caliber .  Also .22s have easy to get subsonic ammo so very quiet with no supersonic crack that you still get with a suppressed centrefire .

Norinco jw 15s go for @350 new all set up . Fairly basic rifles but they are accurate enough

Marlin xt's are nicer to use and will run you $550 or so all set up.