Forum Description: Share information about your latest fishing trip
URL: https://www.fishing.net.nz/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=81203
Printed Date: 18 Apr 2024 at 5:51pm

Topic: Wanganui Sea Fishing.
Posted By: axel_003
Subject: Wanganui Sea Fishing.
Date Posted: 06 Aug 2012 at 9:06pm

Hi all,

Keen to hear from anyone who heads out of Wanganui. I’m pretty new to the game and just want to share info, photos and tips.
I have just got into my first boat, 5m Mclay, 90hp yammy. Been out a couple of times with some success. Getting a feed of terakihi, gurnard and blue cod both times with a 46cm blue cod on the last trip.

So if you a keen to share then reply here.

Cheers.

Replies:
Posted By: Tangi DnA
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 3:30pm
Welcome to the forums axel Handshake

I used to fish out of Wangas a bit but now I fish out of Tangimoana. Im pleased to hear you are having some success, and congratulations on getting your first boat. They are good boats too.
There are a few on here who fish Wanganui you may just have to wait a while for a reply thats all.

-------------
I always take life with a grain of salt, ...plus a slice of lemon, ...and a shot of tequila.

Posted By: Rob Optimist
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 5:29pm
Pm sent

-------------
               "attitude is everything"

Posted By: Wide Load
Date Posted: 08 Aug 2012 at 8:13pm
Hi Axel
The "Spot X Fishing Guide" gave me lots of good starting points to explore from.
If you don't have a copy pm me.

Kai Iwi is usually a bit calmer if it's rough out wide.
Waiinu hole S39-56.93  E174-41.40 or there-abouts has been good to me at times.
Turakina Ridge in 25-30 metres produces Tarakihi in winter and blue cod year round.
The 30 metre contour right along this coast is where I head and drift with softbaits which always produces a feed.

Good luck, see you out there some time.

-------------
http://www.legasea.co.nz" rel="nofollow">

Date Posted: 12 Aug 2012 at 1:34pm
Hi all,

Good to hear a few other that fish Wanganui.