Print Page | Close Window

Bar information

Printed From: The Fishing Website
Category: Destinations
Forum Name: Auckland & Hauraki Gulf
Forum Description: Auckland destination info, advice, fishing spots, hints and tips here
URL: https://www.fishing.net.nz/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=131168
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 10:54pm

Topic: Bar information
Posted By: Bigfishman1213
Subject: Bar information
Date Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:02pm
Hi guys,

I am a completely new boaty here who is keen to learn to keep myself alive in the mighty ocean. I am based in Auckland north shore and plan to fish around rangitoto and waiheke island. As I have very little local knowledge, would like to know if there is anything I need to look out for before going out such as bar crossing(so not keen to do that as still learning how to back a trailor straight lol). Also where can I find a map or somthing to find all the bars around northern areas? Thanks for any advice. Cheers.

Replies:
Posted By: Coastguard NZ
Date Posted: 29 May 2019 at 8:22am
Hi there.

To be straight up - bars aren't places for new boaties. 

We would thoroughly recommend building significant experience up on harbour waters before thinking about tackling a bar. Even then your first crossings should be under the wings of someone who knows what they are doing while you build experience, competence and confidence. Perhaps look to join one of the safety focused west coast fishing clubs.

To find out more and why all this is a good idea, we put quite a bit of energy and resources into bar crossing information and I'd recommend that you look to attend a Bar Crossing seminar or day if you can. Details of what is being offered in the Northern region are maintained here:  http://www.coastguard.org.nz/information.php?info_id=256?cgnrSid=a749f4299129df60c58640faa5f140cf" rel="nofollow - https://www.coastguard.org.nz/information.php?info_id=256?cgnrSid=a749f4299129df60c58640faa5f140cf