Kingi rig/technique

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote roofrack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Kingi rig/technique
    Posted: 28 Jun 2005 at 1:33pm
roofrack View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

I am looking at targeting Kingis up around Ruakaka/Marsden area. I have a Penn 330GTi and am wondering wheather to upgrade. It seems the go is a Shimano TLD20 from what I can gather. Casting off the boat around the marker buoys with a Yo-zuri popper on 15 kg line. Does sound like I'm on the right right track? A complete novice on this at the moment.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote lizard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2005 at 1:41pm
lizard View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

depends if you want to cast poppers etc....I use a 330gti with 24kg braid on it and it is sweet as for kings and anything big...the rod is a shimano taipan boat rod which i find awesome too...the penn mariner rod is ok too....

i tow lures around the bouy's etc and prefer to cast poppers when I can see em...great to watch too... I usually use a egg beater style reel for casting as i suck at casting overheads...

another way is to drift a balloon with a livie on it towards the markers....

depends really exactly what way you want to target them i guess...loads of ways to nail them....all of which have their place..

im not as think as you drunk i am
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Bender Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2005 at 1:48pm
Bender View Drop Down
Life Member
Life Member

Nothing wrong with the 330. I've said it before - you can cast any reel, it just needs sufficient weight on the end of the line.

That said, for a lot of casting, an eggbeater is easier to live with.

If you want info, Mark Kitteridge's book on catching kingfish is a beaut.

Nobody has ever come up with a great idea after a second bottle of water.