Queenstown - trouble spinning for trout

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote sol Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Queenstown - trouble spinning for trout
    Posted: 15 Nov 2012 at 10:34am
sol View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi crew...

I'm over from Aus for a few weeks, spending time in Queenstown. Brought the spinning gear thinking this place was a trout mecca but I'm yet to have much luck. Pulled in two yesterday morning around dawn on lake Wakatipu, using a black and gold toby from the shore. All up I've fished about 3 full days dawn to dusk and only have these two rewards.

So far I've just fished the lake and a bit past the bridge near Frankton. Have also heard there are plenty of other lakes nearby, plus two rivers that are supposed to be somewhat productive near Glenorchhy. I'm yet to venture up there however. The water is extremely clear in the area, causing some headaches I think for spinning? I'm a total beginner, but have gathered that this clear water maybe a cause for concern. The lake itself is also really deep. This may be a hassle also?

Just looking for some local knowledge around the area and some recommendations for spin fishing spots within an hour or two drive distance. Or any recommendations regarding what I might be doing wrong. It seems strange that I have been so unproductive, unless I'm making some mistakes along the way, which is quite likely. Please help me turn my trip over here into that memorable trout fishing experience that I can brag to my mates about!!

I have about 2 weeks to kill and if i can find some productive fishing in the area I was considering hiring a car and doing a bit of camping etc... for a few days or so and just cruising around spinning where it is promising. If any one has some ideas of where I could go for a few days to a week trip that would be really awesome too.

My setup:

Shimano t curve and 2500 spinning reel.