Kite setups

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Karl14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Kite setups
    Posted: 22 Sep 2010 at 6:54pm
Karl14 View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

hey guys im looking at getting into kite fishing. Im 24 and mainly to surfcasting. What would you reccommend me getting??

Ill be looking at going out west coast beaches (auckland) and also sandy beaches out the east coast iswell.

thanks Karl
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Walt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2010 at 8:30pm
Walt View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi Karl,

Do you plan on fishing mostly alone, or with at least one other person?  Reason I ask, is that it's likely to dictate the size of rig.

If you haven't already, then I recommend checking out the following website:
http://www.fishingkites.co.nz/

I'm relatively new to this game also, but the way I see it there are few options - all of which are 'Dropper Rigs' that keep your mainline clear of the water. (I believe Bottom longline rigs are for more experienced users, and not suitable in areas where snags are likely).

Pocket Sled Rig:
Compact, easier to transport and manage alone.  Requires rod/reel with 8-15kg line.  Suitable for offshore winds only, and will set 1 - 3 hooks.
Price range $140-190

Flexiwing Rig:
More superior kite, able to tack (ie, steer) if wind not directly offshore, can set 5-10 hooks.  More experienced users can manage alone, but 2 or more would be better (and help you carry along the beach).
Can either be used on existing rod/reel with 20-30kg line, or purchased as a standalone set.
Price Rage $190-280 (Rod/Reel Upgrade) or $350-430 (Standalone)

Big Dropper Rigs: