finding a likely spot

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote tobez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: finding a likely spot
    Posted: 06 Jun 2010 at 1:06pm
tobez View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

im real keen to get into this - i have a synit 37kg stick and a stella 20000 but im new to finding spots

at the moment i shave found a bunch of baitfish in really dirty water, were getting some good fish on live baits so do ya rekon the vibration will be enough to get the fish to bite as im sure as hell they can see fine

ginga in particlar, what are you looking for in a new spot?..or is it trial and error?

cheers

t
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote ginga Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2010 at 1:11pm
ginga View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Shallow is the key, 5 to 15 metres of water is what i look for and the rougher ground the better.

Your in prime country for this sort of stuff Toby, all around those islands will be just great.
Not sure about the dirty water though. The times i have tried int he dirty stuff we still got fish but if we went back to the same spots with clear blue water the fishing was better.
Trial and error is definitely the way to go, dont be afraid to throw the odd cast near the livies too.
www.extremesportfishing.co.nz.
Agent for Carpenter, Orion and ASWB products

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote JK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2010 at 1:43pm
JK View Drop Down
Moderator - Black Belt
Moderator - Black Belt

Probably similar to the type of spots we look for targetting kingfish off the rocks I would have thought. Bit of current and structure and not too deep given you are top water fishing.

Ginga, do you do much of your top water fishing in say casting range of shore?