The decline of Editorial Oversite in NZ Media

Page  <12
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote shaneg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2023 at 8:09pm
shaneg View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Originally posted by OneWayTraffic OneWayTraffic wrote:

Whatever side of the political compass you lie on, it's important to try and emphasise with the other side. You may disagree on policy or implementation but as soon as we start identifying too much with a political party and calling the other side f-wits, we may as well move to the States, as that's what we become. 

For the record I tend to vote left wing, but not too far left, as I work in education. Te Parti Maori for example has some pretty bad ideas in their education policy mixed in with a few good. ACT has some good ideas in theirs mixed with some bad. Both I assume mean well, and legitimately think that their policies will help the country. Both are probably partly wrong, based on my experience in a classroom. 

Possibly mean “empathise” versus “emphasise”.
As an example: I strongly emphasise my right to support free thinking and less government and lower taxes and generally less govt interference in lots of things. But I empathise with efforts to improve child poverty, the health system, education and also helping small businesses and private landlords (and their tenants) being adversely impacted by present government.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote v8-coupe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2023 at 8:10pm
v8-coupe View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Originally posted by muchalls muchalls wrote:

The Heralds website is littered with spelling errors…

And the same paragraphs and sentences repeated underneath each other.
Many incorrect words used as well.
I think they have done away with inhouse proof readers and now out source to a third party.
Probably in India. LOL
Legasea Legend Member