Rotorua

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote MB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rotorua
    Posted: 20 Apr 2022 at 11:29am
MB View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Hi guys, I've got a family trip to Rotorua coming up. Wouldn't mind catching a trout, but I'll be limited to shore fishing, probably just with spinning/softbait gear. What are my chances of action? Any tips? Thanks.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Redfinger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2022 at 5:06pm
Redfinger View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I would pop into local Hunting and fishing store and they would point you towards some productive spinning spots. I will probably be at Lake Rotoiti on Tuesday in my little Console jigging - i would ask you out but we only have limited time then off to kinloch for the night . Some good conditioned fish around alot of the Rotorua lakes . Im no spinning expert sorry.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote MB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2022 at 5:07pm
MB View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Thanks Redfinger!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Mossy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 8:28pm
Mossy View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

You could try spinning from the Waiteti Stream mouth at Ngongotaha or the Hamurana Streammouth also. Apparently they can be pretty successful at times (YouTube should attest to this).
Also, I've had luck by chucking a softbait into the Blue Lake by wading from the beach at the other end of the lake opposite  the holiday park. That lake can get pretty busy though with water skiers etc, so I've only been there in winter when it's a bit quieter.

Redfinger's on the money though, the guys at Hunting and Fishing will probably be your best bet, or maybe even try a phone call to the local Fish and Game office for advice? Good luck.