Hamilton trout

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote glassl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hamilton trout
    Posted: 30 May 2020 at 10:03am
glassl View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi,

I am new to trout fishing in the Waikato region. I live in Hamilton and was hoping to get some advice about places or rivers to check out. Definitely not expecting secret spots (unless someone is feeling super generous :)

Cheers
Post Options Post Options   Likes (1) Likes(1)   Quote bazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 8:04pm
bazza View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
OBE - Over Bloody Eighty

Hamilton had & presumably still has a very active fly fishing club so suggest you seriously think of joining ... no better way to learn. 
When you cry, feel pain or sadness, no one notices your sorrow .... BUT
fart just ONE time !!!!!!!!!!!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Reel Deal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 8:40pm
Reel Deal View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

There are some monster trout in the Waikato river. Grew up of a urban myth maybe of a nz record trout caught under the police bridge. Nice gravel beds and eddies
The gods do not subtract from the allotted span of men's lives the hours spent on fishing - Assyrian Proverb
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote taurangatroutmaster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2020 at 12:33am
taurangatroutmaster View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Woolly buggers under the willows. Either on flyrod or spin rod with a couple of split shot. Don't need to cast far the fish are close to the bank. Cast out to the edge of the willows. Swing it til it hits the bank then retrieve close to the bank
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote The Tamure Kid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2020 at 11:26am
The Tamure Kid View Drop Down
Titanium