Crayfish

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Elrond Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Crayfish
    Posted: 17 Dec 2019 at 6:50pm
Elrond View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

As a complete novice, could someone talk me through the best way to prepare and cook fresh crayfish.

Thanks
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Waylander Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 2019 at 9:07pm
Waylander View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Keep it simple... put em in a pot of boiling water until they go bright red.

If feeling fancy after a quick boil slice them down the middle, chuck a bit of garlic butter on em and grill them quickly on a super hot bbq.

Personally think its the only way...
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Steps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Dec 2019 at 6:31am
Steps View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Do not over cook or over boil.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Elrond Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2019 at 4:00pm
Elrond View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Cheers
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Fish Addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Dec 2019 at 4:23pm
Fish Addict View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Split the tails then put them on the barbie shell side down, then sprinkle a bit of butter and garlic onto the flesh. I cook them for 10 minutes or so, NEVER flipping the flesh onto the hot plate. This way the juices stay in. With about 2 minutes to go, I'll throw some beer or white wine onto the tails, and quickly cover them with a stainless bowl. This steams them from above, and seals all the goodness in!

Steaming them is better than boiling them if you choose to go down that path.

The following is some comments from a chef about cooking crays.