Bar information

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Bigfishman1213 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bar information
    Posted: 28 May 2019 at 8:02pm
Bigfishman1213 View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi guys,

I am a completely new boaty here who is keen to learn to keep myself alive in the mighty ocean. I am based in Auckland north shore and plan to fish around rangitoto and waiheke island. As I have very little local knowledge, would like to know if there is anything I need to look out for before going out such as bar crossing(so not keen to do that as still learning how to back a trailor straight lol). Also where can I find a map or somthing to find all the bars around northern areas? Thanks for any advice. Cheers.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Coastguard NZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2019 at 8:22am
Coastguard NZ View Drop Down
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor

Hi there.

To be straight up - bars aren't places for new boaties. 

We would thoroughly recommend building significant experience up on harbour waters before thinking about tackling a bar. Even then your first crossings should be under the wings of someone who knows what they are doing while you build experience, competence and confidence. Perhaps look to join one of the safety focused west coast fishing clubs.

To find out more and why all this is a good idea, we put quite a bit of energy and resources into bar crossing information and I'd recommend that you look to attend a Bar Crossing seminar or day if you can. Details of what is being offered in the Northern region are maintained here: https://www.coastguard.org.nz/information.php?info_id=256?cgnrSid=a749f4299129df60c58640faa5f140cf

From the tone of your email you might like to look at doing a Day Skipper and VHF Radio Operator courses. There are some good discounts for new Coastguard members.

Hope that helps.