Sullivans Dam and Southern Reservoir Dunedin

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote pixelpixie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sullivans Dam and Southern Reservoir Dunedin
    Posted: 31 Dec 2018 at 5:51pm
pixelpixie View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi everyone, and Happy New Year! Hope you all had a good Christmas.
I have just started fishing again, I havent fresh-water fished for about 30 years so I've been practising on the Southern Reservoir and at Sullivans Dam in Dunedin  for a few weeks now.
I know I'm a complete novice and really dont know what I'm doing but I would have thought after fishing almost every day, sometimes twice a day for a few weeks, I'd have had more than just one nibble, right?  Admittedly that one nibble did turn into a landed rainbow trout, but the fact that was the one and only nibble I've even had, I now suspect it was just a fluke.
My question is, are there actually any fish in these locations? I never really see anyone else catching anything either. 
What lures should I be using?
And lastly, for now, is there anywhere in Dunedin I can get lessons?  I would love to spend a few hours with someone just going over the basics, and get some hints and tips, so I can try and get the best use of my licence and gear.
Thanks.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote bazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2019 at 9:55pm
bazza View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
OBE - Over Bloody Eighty

Originally posted by pixelpixie pixelpixie wrote:

Hi everyone, and Happy New Year! Hope you all had a good Christmas.
I have just started fishing again, I havent fresh-water fished for about 30 years so I've been practising on the Southern Reservoir and at Sullivans Dam in Dunedin  for a few weeks now.