Mantis Shrimp

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote haywire Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Mantis Shrimp
    Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 9:22am
haywire View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi there,

I'm a University of Auckland student and I will be doing a Masters on invasion of the Japanese mantis shrimp.

I know a lot of flounder fisherman have found mantis shrimp in their nets around the Kaipara and I am very interested to know more about this. If any of you are willing to help, that would be awesome! I will be conducting some short interviews about where you find it, when you started noticing it etc. which will all take place next year. Any specimen collections (live or dead) would also be greatly appreciated

Thanks for your help and time!

Cheers
hayley
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote smudge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2017 at 4:56pm
smudge View Drop Down
Moderator - Ninja
Moderator - Ninja

Can anyone help Haywire with this inquiry?
Best gurnard fisherman in my street
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Kandrew Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2017 at 6:54pm
Kandrew View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Fished the kaipara a lot but never caught one, heard of them and seen them posted on here. Interesting never knew there was a native shrimp?
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote bazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2017 at 7:04pm
bazza View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
OBE - Over Bloody Eighty

Hey Haywire ( no pun intended ) I also have been intrigued by the as yet unexplained, relatively recent introduction of these critters into some areas of NZ waters.