crayfish mounting

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote saltie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: crayfish mounting
    Posted: 13 Dec 2011 at 9:16am
saltie View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

Hey guys

I am wanting to mount/taxidermy my own cray
I am a boat builder so have experience with resins but I am after any other information needed to undertake this little project i.e: removing the flesh, wiring the frame, removing and replacing the shell or any other hints or tips that would come in handy

Any information you guys could help me out with would be much appreciated

Cheers,
Matt
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Titahi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2011 at 11:29am
Titahi View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I have done a few... Formulin sourced from a pharmacist, which is basically Formaldehyde and water. Inject it into every crack in the skeleton  ensureing that the cray is pumped fuller than full with it.
 If you look at the knuckles on your fingers imagine they are the same as they joins in the exoskeleton on a crayfish, the formulin must be injected in both directions into every joint, I found satrting at one end and working towards the other, then turn the crayfish over and repeat, at the tail it pays to inject in both directions on either side of the tail to ensure its full!! If you dont get it into every part of the crayfish it will start to rot and smell as the formulin breaks down the protein in the crayfish, and it can take years for the smell to reduce.......