Braid to trace (again) .

Page  12>
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote zhuter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Braid to trace (again) .
    Posted: 06 Dec 2009 at 6:54pm
zhuter View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

New guy here and my first post (with a question)

I am very new to Softbait fishing but do wonder what the fuss is over KNOTS when it comes to "braid to trace"

Why not just drop a decent  quality swivel in between braid and terminal trace?

Surely its easier to tie a knot from braid to swivel instead of braid to mono (or fluorocarbon) than it is to do a tricky complicated  braid to trace line knot?

Thoughts please.

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Cigar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2009 at 8:28pm
Cigar View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

Because a swivel will destroy the guides on my rod!

I use a fluoro trace of about 1m, and have about 30cm hanging from the rodtip when casting.

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote BBFisha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2009 at 8:41pm
BBFisha View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

I'm rubbish with knots and a good double Uni knot is actually too easy to tie!!  Once you have had a go at it a few times you will be away laughing!  I also reckon with braid direct to mono/fluro you feel a lot more and apparently the turning and twisting of the swivel can ruin the desire action you ate trying to achieve with the soft bait!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Parrot Fish Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2009 at 12:25am
Parrot Fish View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

a 5 turn surgeon knot will do. simple enought to tie too. 
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote zhuter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2009 at 7:08pm
zhuter View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Originally posted by BBFisha BBFisha wrote: