New to fishing in Whangarei and looking for advice

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote BobbyP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New to fishing in Whangarei and looking for advice
    Posted: 17 Oct 2022 at 11:38am
BobbyP View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi team

I'm new to fishing and I'm based in Whangarei. I'm looking for any advice on where to go either rock fishing or surf casting in the Whangarei/Northland area? I know it's not the done thing to ask people to tell you where Spot X is but any help for a newbie would be appreciated. I've been fishing off the rocks out at Reotahi a couple of times with no luck and I went out to Whananaki yesterday but I couldn't fish the point due to the swell, so no luck there either (despite the 40 minute drive out to Whananaki and then a 45 minute walk out to the point). 

I'm running an Okuma Sensor Tip 10ft 15kg 3 piece with an Okuma Coronado CDX 60 Baitfeeder and just looking to head out and have a go, so any advice would be appreciated. 

Cheers everyone.

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote MB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Oct 2022 at 1:49pm
MB View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Welcome. It'll start getting easier as the fish move in to the harbour. I don't do any serious land based fishing, so can't help with specifics I'm afraid. If you look at the local FB pages, there are plenty of fish being caught from the shore/rocks. 
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote BobbyP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Oct 2022 at 1:52pm
BobbyP View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Could you recommend any FB pages to check?
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote MB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Oct 2022 at 2:44pm
MB View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Northland Fishing
Bream Bay Fishing