Rate my setup

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Kingaling Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Rate my setup
    Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 8:53am
Kingaling View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

I'm new to SWF, and the old man has been talking big game about heading up north to target snapper in the shallows. 
So I got this as a Christmas present "for my Dad" off Trademe - Which I'm hoping to get some use out of as well LOL

Pics below. 
Rod is a Composite Developments, Downunder Series GIII 9 wt.
Anyone familiar with these rods? 
Couldn't find any info on it but picked it up for $90 so can't complain. 

Reel is a Redington Behemoth, 9/10wt w/spare spool which I got for $330. 
Came with RIO "Avid" series, 350gr 8-9wt Sink Tip. 
Other spool came with Scientific Anglers "BOOST" WF 9F.   

I'm a bit on sure on how best to rig these up in different situations, so any advice would be much appreciated. 
I.e what leader length - does it need to be tapered?  
When is it appropriate to use floating vs. sinking line? 

On fresh water with sinking line I just have a 1m leader of 10 lb mono. Can I do a similar thing on the Salt but maybe 20lb? 

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote FISHBYFLY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2018 at 5:42pm
FISHBYFLY View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

not sure on CD rods,
Im  not a fan of them personally found them pretty noodly but that was yonks ago,
id hope they were better constructed now,
flooater for Kings and Kahawai with a crease/ popper or streamer.
sinker for snaps trevs,
I like to go a rod length of 20lb fluorocarbon for leader[good quality],
stay away from nylon, slowly degrades, and will fail/wear easier than fluoro.

that's my 10 cents, just remember everyone will have different opinions,
but the things I expect will all agree on is
-Good Knots
-quality leader