Which jigs?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Chad51 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Which jigs?
    Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 12:50pm
Chad51 View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

Hi all,

I'm heading out for a fish this weekend in and around the Gulf. Anyway, i really want to give slow jigging a go. I'm a complete newbie to this type of fishing so my question is....if you were to take out 2 jigs only what would they be. what style, weight etc. I'm thinking current might be a big factor where we'll be fishing. Basically I just wanna buy a couple of jigs and give it a go. Is it a good time of year to be doing it? I'll be using a spin setup.

Thanks in advance
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote bornagainfishermen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 2:13pm
bornagainfishermen View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Inchiku 100g to 130g micro jig 40g to 60 g or kabura 100g to 120 g heaps of options for weights and types but thats a start have fun
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Structfab Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 2:27pm
Structfab View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

about 60g will suit most of the gulf. Anchovies are on the menu at the moment, so anything that resembles one, should get smashed 
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote MB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 2:56pm
MB View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I'm a bit further north than you, but if it was just two jigs, orange inchiku in 80 and 100g, no question!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Chad51 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 3:38pm
Chad51 View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

thanks guys. really appreciate the advice
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Tonyg26 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 8:46pm