How many watts does a kontiki and winch use?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote BlueMarlin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How many watts does a kontiki and winch use?
    Posted: 01 Jun 2019 at 5:55pm
BlueMarlin View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

I had the idea of charging up 2x 12V 14Ah batteries with a solar panel.

I'm new to kontiki fishing and I don't even currently own a kontiki but I decided to get one.

So my question is; How many watts does a kontiki and winch use?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Steps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2019 at 9:50am
Steps View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

2x 12V 14Ah batteries with a solar panel.

Not knowing the wattage/amp draw or  max rating...
 maybe a google would give the specs?
Off the top of my head I would be costing up 3 batteries rather than 2 +solar.
 you may find the cost of maybe 1 or 2 panels (big enough to give quick recovery solar) plus a regulator would be more than the 3rd battery
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Got-ya Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2019 at 7:24pm
Got-ya View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

Depending on where and with what you are fishing with. 25 to 30min to send your baits out. 40min to an hour soak time. Another 25 min to bring it in then take off your ill gotten gains, re-bait, put new batteries in etc. All this is a long winded way of saying its about a 3 hour turn around per set. Just buy 3 sets of batteries and call it done. That's 9 hours fishing!. 
I looked in to recharging on the beach and the problem is the rather slow charge rate that these batts can handle, which means by the time the your first set would be recharged your hopefully eating fresh fish for dinner. 
THERE ARE TWO KINDS OF FISHERMAN, THOSE WHO FISH FOR SPORT AND THOSE THAT CATCH SOMETHING.