Casting, patience and practice

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote otdrmn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Casting, patience and practice
    Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 8:59pm
otdrmn View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Just over a month in to my fly fishing journey, casting is coming along albeit slowly, some self taught practice and a correction lesson by an expert and I'm slowly getting the casting sorted.
So many things to remember to perfect the cast so I found videoing myself and then reviewing is helping - must remember - tight loops, rod start and stop position, double hauling, timing, arm in tighter to the body... and the list goes on Smile

The 4 R's ~ Rods, Reels, Rifles, Rooting
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote WillP Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Feb 2019 at 9:07pm
WillP View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

well done for getting er done. this video was my biggest help with double hauling its all about muscle memory and can be parctised where ever you are and even with out a rod. My work m8s always ask what I am doing when at work but little do they know I an fishing in the office.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=326C1L-97Z0
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote FishMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2019 at 6:03am
FishMan View Drop Down
Moderator - Brown Belt
Moderator - Brown Belt

A good start outdoor man . Will's on the money when he talks about muscle memory and the double haul. I can cast in my sleep with my right arm but quickly go back to square one when I try with my left arm. My muscles are all locked in a different configuration on that non-dominant side and refuse to move in the way I want them to. I persist though, simply to try and build up muscle memory on that side and to remind myself how hard it can be when people first pick up a fly rod. You're making great progress and will quickly find it easier and easier.