Shimano Sustain 6k or 10k?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote AndreNZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Shimano Sustain 6k or 10k?
    Posted: 25 Jan 2016 at 10:44pm
AndreNZ View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

What size would you guys suggest for the choice of the sustain stickbait/popper reel?

Thinking either the 6k or 10k and wondering if the 10k would be too big?

With the extra line would double as a marlin setup but I'm new to top water fishing and need some advice because I dont want to hinder the top water setup
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote PE Pete Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2016 at 11:22pm
PE Pete View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Hi, I think the Sustain was a great reel & of the two the 10k would be the better option depending on the rod your gonna put it on. As for either doubling as an option for Marlin I think that might be a bit optimistic.
Which ever reel you go with the rod & braid will all need to match up, no point having a small reel on a monster rod or Vis versa.
Hope that helps & good luck.
Tight lines
PE Pete
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote AndreNZ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2016 at 5:42pm
AndreNZ View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

What braid do you recommend for stick baiting?
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Marknado4000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2016 at 6:50pm
Marknado4000 View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

Varivas casting if the budget allows it
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Fishing Addiction Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2016 at 7:34pm
Fishing Addiction View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Varivas gt max or smp. Use the pe6 gt max and it's is a wicked casting braid