Raglan!!

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote glassl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Raglan!!
    Posted: 05 Dec 2015 at 11:12pm
glassl View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi everybody,

I am new to the forum. Have been living in hamilton for a while. Just got a boat and keen to head out to raglan and get back into fishing. I have heard there is good fishing inside the bar/harbour. Is this true? Looking to catch some snapper or other bottom fish. Would appreciate any help and tips.

Cheers
Louis
Post Options Post Options   Likes (1) Likes(1)   Quote glassl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2016 at 4:11pm
glassl View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Went out for a fish at raglan today, didn't go out over the bar as I was not game since I have no experience with it. Just fished in the harbour. Got a few small snapper and a kahawai so that answers my question, need to go out over the bar to get anything decent.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Reel Deal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2016 at 9:15pm
Reel Deal View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

There's some good fish in the harbour but more consistent outside. What boat have you got ?
The gods do not subtract from the allotted span of men's lives the hours spent on fishing - Assyrian Proverb
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote glassl Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2016 at 9:20pm
glassl View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

16 foot ray glass. I think the boat itself is fine yo cross the bar as I saw smaller boats go out but I just haven't got the experience. I watched the coastguard video on crossing the raglan bar which was pretty interesting. Do you go out over the bar much?
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Tonyg26 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2016 at 10:40pm
Tonyg26 View Drop Down
Gold
Gold