Marlin - rod, reel question

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Yababy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Marlin - rod, reel question
    Posted: 09 Sep 2018 at 3:49pm
Yababy View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

I am very new to this marlin fishing so i am going to ask many stupid question before the season start
Your views on the following please

Am i best to
A) Buy 1 x good rod reel combo (Shimano Tiagra 50) and only tow 1 x lure plus teaser behind the boat

Or B) Buy 2 x cheaper rod reel combos (Shimano TLD50) and tow 2 x lures plus teaser 

My gut feel is more lures in the water = more fish, but cheap gear is cheap and what cost losing a fish to save a few bucks........

More info, looking at 24kg, Standup gear. 

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Tagit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2018 at 4:39pm
Tagit View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

The average Stripey that you are most likely to catch is very manageable on a well maintained TLD50. You might struggle if a large Blue etc gets on it. Most people would prefer to tow 4 to 5 lures, but 3 would be quite normal from a boat with no outriggers. 
You could look at less expensive new gear or some less cosmetically good but mechanically sound used gear.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Alan L Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2018 at 8:17pm
Alan L View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Agree with above. I use 3 rods when on my own - plenty really. Used to tow 5 but gave that up - chaos on strike and one in boat. Forget double strike.
How much for the TLD 50s? Ideally 3 well used/maintained Penn game 50W would cover you totally - what I use.(Swordfish steve)
Alan
Legasea Legend member
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Metal Float Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2018 at 8:42pm
Metal Float View Drop Down
Gold
Gold