1986 Johnson 2 stroke

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Bazza84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1986 Johnson 2 stroke
    Posted: 21 Jul 2017 at 11:08am
Bazza84 View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hey Team,
I have recently acquired a 86 Johnson 8hp 2 stroke, with intent to use it on my wee aquapro RHIB... I am new to using outboards and was hoping someone could give me an idea about which oil is best to mix with and a good ratio to use when mixing fuel... I have read a few things on US forums saying the 100/1 mix stated on the engine is no good to use and a few different ratios to run with but all in oz and gallons... Anyone with any experience can point me in the right direction. Much appreciated!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Steps Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2017 at 2:25pm
Steps View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I have read a few things on US forums saying the 100/1 mix stated on the engine is no good to use and a few different ratios to run with but all in oz and gallons... Anyone with any experience can point me in the right direction. Much appreciated!

Correct.
The XD 100 evinrude synthetic oil is for modern ECU FUEL injected that use (and can be programed) to mix 100:1 mix

The XD 50 synthertic is for use on the older Fush injected evinrude engines that run a 50:1 mix.
It is also used on eveinrude/ johnson carbed engines that get a lot of heavy/ loaded work.. it also reduced carbon build up in ports, around props, in chambers etc, and is far less smelly

The XD30 is for johnson/ evinrude 2 stroke engines, NON FUEL injected
 It is far superior to the cheaper after market alternatives.

If the VRO oil pump/ automatic mixer is faulty or not working, pre mix
1L of 2 Stroke oil (XD30 or XD 50) with 50 L of 91 octane  NON ALCOHOL added fuel
(not the cheap gull stuff and at some mobil outlets)