Starting out in spearfishing (advice needed)

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote marksy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Starting out in spearfishing (advice needed)
    Posted: 26 Feb 2017 at 7:44pm
marksy View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi, I'm looking at getting into spearfishing and am on a low budget as im a student. Just wandering if anyone has any gear suggestions/if anyone is selling off any of their gear. I have a mask and snorkel currently so I'm looking for fins, a knife, a float, a wetsuit and a gun. A family friend recommended I start off with a Hawaiian sling to practice my fish stalking skills, is this a good idea or should I go straight to a speargun?. From the research I've done a 110cm gun seems like a good all rounder but I don't really have a clue. Also is doing a freediving course worthwhile?   Does anyone know of one that's relatively cheap in the Auckland area? I've also been eying up the Mares phantom 5mm suit, I hear 5mm is the way to go because you can wear it in winter and summer. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Will I Am Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Feb 2017 at 5:49pm
Will I Am View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

I think you are on the right track with the gun.  110 gun is great size for a first gun.  There are loads of shops in Auckland and their staff will point you in the right direction.

"Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers." - Herbert Hoover
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote harrison Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Mar 2017 at 5:57am
harrison View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum