Angles

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Spudnik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Angles
    Posted: 14 Dec 2016 at 8:04pm
Spudnik View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Hello

Just a newbie here so apologies if this has been discussed before. I have been a bait fisherman for a while, and have just got into soft plastics. My question is: what is the best angle to fish a SB at from the boat? Should they be fished straight down, or can they be weighted so they can be fished down the berley trail?

Cheers
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Muppet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2016 at 9:31pm
Muppet View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Depends on depth, current, wind, etc.

General rule is 1/4 ounce jighead for 10m and less, 3/8 for 10-15m, 1/2 for 15-25 and so on. Cast the bait out and let it sink always watching the line as this is when I reckon most bites happen, if not twitch the bait back and repeat. There is more to it but its a start you will get a feel for it. Good luck 
Post Options Post Options   Likes (1) Likes(1)   Quote funandfunction Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2016 at 10:39pm
funandfunction View Drop Down
Gold
Gold

The best results are when drifting and I find ideal drift speeds are between 0.4 and 0.8kn . When the drift gets up around 1kn or so it pays to use a drouge to slow the drift and the bigger the better. A fish finder and chart plotter are important to find the fish and then be able to repeat a successful drift or change the drift starting point to better target an area. It's very much hunting rather than passively waiting for something to happen. With drifting you'll cover a much larger area and learn a lot more about where fish are holding..... hope this helps.
There are two types of people in the world: those that divide people into two types and those that don't.