Casting braid

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Fishing Addiction Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Casting braid
    Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 7:53pm
Fishing Addiction View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

Currently running jb hollow 60 on a saltiga 5000h and had numerous wind knots. I'm no expert but wondering if it's partly the braid
Wondering what the best casting braid was out there?
Much difference between varivas casting pe, gt max amd smp?
Tasline all white?
Sunline monster?

Keen on people's thoughts
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote LBGer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 8:16pm
LBGer View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I use JB 60lb too but have never had a wind knot with it. I have had wind knots in other braid, I found when I was getting wind knots I was snapping/flicking the cast near the end of the cast and that would cause problems. When I made a smooth cast without too much acceleration, it reduced them. Once the braid got a few knots, it would occur more frequently and so did my fits of rage... dunno if that helps...
A king on the bricks is worth 5 in a boat.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote kaveman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 8:27pm
kaveman View Drop Down
Forum Sponsor
Forum Sponsor

What rod and guides are you using? make sure reel is not to full( first mistake i see when wind knots appear)
www.kavemantackle.co.nz
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote home bouy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 8:37pm
home bouy View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

What Kavey said bro and also when winding in line after sweeping... is the line to slack and going on spool sloppy. If so either:

a: when boat is moving let lure out say just past what you can cast and wind in tight on spool
b: learn to wind slack line in tighter