Assist rigs on stickbaits

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote coxie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Assist rigs on stickbaits
    Posted: 22 Jul 2015 at 9:37pm
coxie View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Is there any reason I shouldn't use an assist rig with single hook from a jig on a stickbait instead of treble hooks? I'm completely new to stickbaiting but I fish from a ski so want to eliminate any change of getting a treble in any part of my body... 

I ordered some shogun inline hooks but 9/0 was the smallest I could find (wanted 7/0), got them anyway and sure enough theyre probably a bit big but i'm going to run the shogun on the rear and just put a shortened assist rig off a jig on the belly hook, is there any reason why I havent seen anyone else doing this?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote PE Pete Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2015 at 10:34pm
PE Pete View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I've done exact same thing even down to squid skirt it helps keel the bait.
Tight lines
PE Pete
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote coxie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jul 2015 at 11:09pm
coxie View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

I figured if it works on a jig then can't go too wrong on a stickbait, just don't see it often... if anything the squid skirt may look like a flying fishes wing which can only be good for targetting kingfish
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Titahi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jul 2015 at 12:41am
Titahi View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I think the reason you wont see a squid skirt used on an assist on stickbaits is it will reduce the action and movement of the lure....... Its not gonna be very erratic or have much roll if the skirt is acting like a drouge
"I love standing by the ocean and just knowing what its for"