Kai Iwi trout comp July 4th & 5th

Page  12>
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Telecaster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Kai Iwi trout comp July 4th & 5th
    Posted: 15 Jun 2015 at 1:17pm
Telecaster View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium

I am fishing this comp from my kayak. I have never tried trout fishing before. I will probably be jigging with my softbait gear, 10lb fireline, spin setup. Any tips on terrain type, rigs, fly colours, etc would be great.

I may also do some trolling, so any suggestions on lure type and colour would be appreciated. Is it legal to fish two rods? If I am trolling, I might run two lures with one deeper than the other.

I have a sounder. I might mark my braid with some bright cottonor a felt pen at 5 or 10m intervals so I can drop the flies to a certain depth.

Cheers
Patrick
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote smudge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2015 at 4:18pm
smudge View Drop Down
Moderator - Ninja
Moderator - Ninja

I have fished Kai Iwi many years ago, once for their annual comp. A trolled red setter on spin gear used to work, we used spin gear with a little ball sinker to get the fly down. The big lake (Taharoa??) drops off quite suddenly fairly close to the shore and that's where I'd try trolling.

Moslty I fished fly from the shore though. You can bait fish there and from a kayak fly, spin or bait fishing in close to the weed banks may work.
Best gurnard fisherman in my street
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote bazza Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jun 2015 at 9:57pm
bazza View Drop Down
Titanium
Titanium
OBE - Over Bloody Eighty