DIY hot/cold smoker advice...?

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote rosewood Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DIY hot/cold smoker advice...?
    Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 10:05am
rosewood View Drop Down
Silver
Silver

Wouldn't mind some advice on making a hot/cold diy smoker out of an old filing cabinet we have lying around at work..

Plan was to whack a ply door on it and plumb in one of the those Smokai or UFO cold smoke generators....assuming these work well thats the cold side of things sorted...

For hot smoking im a bit unsure the best way to add a heat source so any advice would be much appreciated..

There is no base so was thinking of attaching a metal base on the bottom and have that sitting over an lpg burner rings or one of those portable gas stoves and add wood chips directly onto the metal base?

Also it is painted inside aswell...will this be a problem? or can i just smoke it out a few times to break it in..

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to smoking so any advice would be appreciated..

cheers rosewood  

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Big Manly Yaka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 1:35pm
Big Manly Yaka View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

If you're going to use it for hot smoking I'd get rid of the paint. Can you build a good fire underneath it a burn the crap out of it for a while, until all the paint peels off? I would imagine it would taint the taste if not be toxic.