TOO MUCH Marlin

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Silent Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: TOO MUCH Marlin
    Posted: 10 Feb 2005 at 10:01pm
Silent View Drop Down
New User
New User

Gidday fellow forum members,I'm new to the discussion group.My name is Dave (aka Silent) Knight and I recently moved up from Mars country(Wgtn) and now live halfway between Kaeo and Whangaroa in the Far North.
Two weeks ago a mate also moved up this way from Wellie,bringing his boat with him.The boat is a 6m McLay named "TOO MUCH".Awesome sea boat that has handled many a trip out Wgtn Hbr to the Trench and out West to Hunters.
   Last weekend(Sat)we decided to explore our new playground for the first time.
   Saturday up early before dawns crack,headed to the local wharf to catch some livies.Got a few Mackkies and headed out of harbour.Weather forecast was for E-SE 20-25Kn,low drizzly rain,vis soso.Still,Shane and myself were bloody keen to suss out a GPS spot he had smarmied out of someone.Set up the big gear once outside harbour and trolled N-NE at 9 knots until we reached the mark.At the mark we pulled in the gear and did a drop for Groper,catching only a 3ft Tope.Not much else happening for a while so pulled up lines and trolled around again.Soon we had a strike on the smaller rod,I took it and had a small Albie to the boat in next to no time,then lost it reaching for the trace.Lost another soon after,this time Shane had the trace and proceeded to rip the Albies face from it's body when he attempted to "HURL" it into the boat,BUGGER.Third time lucky though,another hook-up,this time a gentle approach on the trace by Shane and I had a new species capture.A nice little shiny blue/blackish Albie lay at our feet,YAHOOOO!