Which softbait to choose?

Page  12>
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Yakfisher21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Which softbait to choose?
    Posted: 10 Nov 2014 at 11:01pm
Yakfisher21 View Drop Down
Bronze
Bronze

Hi I'm new to softbaiting and wondered if I should get gulp, Z man or trigger x
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote OneWayTraffic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2014 at 11:21pm
OneWayTraffic View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Gulp are the most popular for a reason. I'm told that Zman are good for longevity, but even those who use Zmans often keep a packet of Gulp for when the fish don't want to bite. 

Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Yakfisher21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2014 at 11:37pm
Bronze
Bronze

Thank you for replying I really appreciate everyone's help here!
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Potty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 9:56am
Potty View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

Hi yakfisher,

Zman paddle tails have awesome action and are deadly on the fish.

I personally don't rate the Zman jerk shads, they do catch fish but the Gulp 5 inch equivalent are way superior.

Gulp 3 inch minnows are a must have and deadly in autumn.

I have tried Trigger X but won't be wasting money buying them again.
Love fishing, love my job. It's a bloody shame that they clash.
Post Options Post Options   Likes (0) Likes(0)   Quote Structfab Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2014 at 10:46am
Structfab View Drop Down
Platinum
Platinum

try using gulps around the Merc's and the leatherjackets will shred your entire packet in no time at all! Zmans all the way. In the Hauraki Gulf gulps (or anything for that matter) work well.
remember to try and "match the hatch" what ever you use